Media office

Archives 2010
Archives 2009
Archives 2008
Archives 2007
Archives 2006
Archives 2005
Archives 2004
Archives 2003
Archives 2002
Archives 2001
Archives 2000

Announcement of Winners
Friday 21 March at 12 noon (media only)

Australia’s most extraordinary art event, the Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, is one of this country’s oldest and most prestigious art awards.  Combined with the Wynne and Sulman Prizes, lively debate and controversy is assured.

The winners of all three prizes will be announced to the media only on Friday 21 March at 12 noon.

With the financial support of the Colonial Foundation Trust, the winner of the Archibald Prize receives $35,000, the Wynne Prize for landscape painting or figure sculpture $15,000, and the Sulman Prize for subject/genre painting and/or mural work $10,000.

3 - 7 March, between 8am and 4pm each day

Entries for all prizes will be received at the Art Gallery of New South between 8am and 4pm from Monday 3 March until Friday 7 March.

Thursday 13 March at 12 noon (media only)
The names of artists selected for the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes will be announced to the media only on Thursday 13 March at 12 noon.  The names will be advertised nationally on Thursday 20 March.

At the same time the Packing Room Prize will be announced.  This highly coveted prize of $500 is awarded by the burly blokes behind the scenes who receive, unpack and hang all the entries.  First awarded in 1991, the Packing Room Prize is adjudicated by the Gallery’s Storeman, Steve Peters - who continues to claim his right to 51% of the votes.

The 2002 Packing Room Prize was won by Jan Williamson for her painting Jenny Morris - singer/songwriter.

Friday 21 March at 12 noon (media only)
The winners of the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes will be announced to the media on Friday 21 March at 12 noon.
The exhibition will be on view to the public from Saturday 22 March to Sunday 25 May.

Thursday 15 May at 12 noon

Since 1988 the public has had the opportunity to vote for their favourite portrait in the Archibald exhibition.  This year the winner of the ‘People’s Choice’ will be announced on Thursday 15 May at 12 noon.  Both the artist and the selected voter will each be presented with $2,500.

The 2002 People’s Choice was won by Jan Williamson for Jenny Morris - singer/songwriter.  This was the second time that the People’s Choice prize winner also won the Packing Room Prize; in 2001 Paul Newton was awarded both prizes for Roy and HG.

The Archibald Prize
Jules Francois Archibald’s primary aim, through his bequest of 1919, was to foster portraiture, as well as support artists, and perpetuate the memory of great Australians.

Amongst many controversies, these original aims have certainly been fulfilled and indeed many believe the Archibald Prize has done more than any other single event to stimulate and sustain public interest in the art of portrait painting in Australia.

The Archibald Prize was first awarded in 1921 and over the years, some of Australia’s prominent artists have won, including George Lambert (1927), William Dobell (1943, '48 and '59) and Brett Whiteley (1976 and '78).  The subjects of Archibald winners have been equally celebrated in their fields and include ‘Banjo’ Patterson, Margaret Olley, Patrick White and Paul Keating.

The 2002 Archibald Prize was won by Cherry Hood for her portrait Simon Tedeschi Unplugged.

The Archibald Prize is judged by the Trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales.

The Wynne Prize
In the terms of the bequest of the late Richard Wynne of Mount Wilson who died in 1895, the Wynne Prize is awarded to what the judges consider to be the best landscape painting of Australian scenery in oils or watercolours, or for the best example of figure sculpture by an Australian artist. 

It was first awarded in 1897, in honour of the official opening of the Art Gallery of New South Wales at its present site.  Many winning paintings have become icons in Australian landscape painting, entering the collections of public art museums: Hans Heysen’s watercolour Summer, a consummate masterpiece of 1909, and Russell Drysdale’s classic Sofala of 1947 were both purchased for the collection of the Art Gallery of New South Wales.  No less than eight Wynne Prize winning entries purchased by the Gallery are currently hanging in the exhibition Parallel Visions (until 11 May 2003).  In 1982 Lloyd Rees’s Morning on the Derwent was purchased for the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

The winner of the 2002 Wynne Prize was Angus Nivison for his painting Remembering rain.

The Wynne Prize is judged by the Trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales.

Entries in the Wynne Prize are also considered by the judges for The Trustees’ Watercolour Prize ($2,000) and for the John & Elizabeth Newham Pring Memorial Prize ($250).  In 2002 The Trustees’ Watercolour Prize was awarded to Noel McKenna for his painting South Coast.

The Sulman Prize
The Sulman Prize is awarded for the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project by an Australian artist.  Established within the terms of the late Sir John Sulman’s bequest, it was first awarded in 1936.  In 1991 Kevin Connor’s painting Najaf (Iraq) won the prize and this painting was purchased by the Australian War Memorial in Canberra.

The winner of the 2002 Sulman Prize was Guan Wei for Gazing into deep space no. 9.

Artist Allan Mitelman is the judge of the 2003 Sulman Prize.


Winners of all prizes will be announced to media only
on Friday 21 March 2032 at 12 noon

Touring Dates
The NSW Regional Tour of the Archibald Prize is managed by the Museums and Galleries Foundation of New South Wales - telephone (02) 9339 9906.

Lake Macquarie City Art Gallery  30 May to 22 June 2003
Port Macquarie-Hastings Regional Gallery2 July to 3 August 2003
Campbelltown City Bicentennial Art Gallery8 August to 14 September 2003
Bathurst Regional Art Gallery19 September to 2 November 2003
George Adams Gallery, Victorian Arts Centre(dates to be confirmed - telephone (03) 9281 8451)

The Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes are supported by the Colonial Foundation Limited:

The Colonial Foundation

In 1996, The Colonial Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd., after 123 years as a mutual life insurance society, demutualised and, in 1997, was listed on the stock exchange as Colonial Limited.  As part of the demutualisation, and in order to reflect in some way its origin as a mutual society, formed to provide a service to its members and the communities it served, the Colonial Foundation Trust was created.  Colonial Foundation Limited was formed to act as trustee of the Trust.

Following the merger of Colonial Limited with the Commonwealth Bank of Australia in June 2000, Colonial Foundation Limited became fully independent, with the responsibility of carrying out the broadly defined charitable objectives of the Colonial Foundation Trust.

The Colonial Foundation is delighted to provide financial support for the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes consistent with one of its objectives, that of improving community quality of life through the arts and cultural activities.

Sir Ninian Stephen
Colonial Foundation Limited


On view:Saturday 22 March to Sunday 25 May 2003
Art Gallery of New South Wales
Art Gallery Road
The Domain, Sydney
Telephone:(02) 9225 1744 or recorded information (02) 9225 1790
National toll free 1800 679 278
Hours:7 days a week
10am to 5pm
(closed Easter Friday and Christmas Day)
open until 9pm on Wednesdays
Admission:$8 adults
$6 concessions/students/members
Media Information and Interviews:Jan Batten
Press Office
(02) 9225 1791 or 0418 279 348