Archibald Wynne & Sulman Prizes 2009
7 March - 24 May 2009
Lower Level 1

The Archibald Prize is one of Australia's oldest and most prestigious art awards. JF Archibald's primary aims were to foster portraiture, support artists and perpetuate the memory of great Australians. Since its inception in 1921 the prize has been awarded to some of Australia's most important artists, including George Lambert, William Dobell and Brett Whiteley.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery in oils or watercolours or for the best example of figure sculpture, by an Australian artist.

The Sir John Sulman Prize is awarded for the best subject painting or genre painting or mural project by an Australian artist.

Visit the Archibald Prize website >

Principal sponsor


Official hotel

Sofitel Luxury Hotels

Guy Maestri Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu
Winner 2009 Archibald Prize

PricesAdult $10.00
Member/concession $7.00
Booked school groups $5.00
Related Events:Click here for more information