Archibald Wynne & Sulman Prizes
25 March - 28 May 2006
Lower Levels 1 & 2

The Archibald Prize is one of Australia's oldest and most prestigious art awards. J.F. Archibald's primary aims were to foster portraiture, support artists and perpetuate the memory of great Australians. Since its inception in 1921 the prize has been awarded to some of Australia's most important artists, including George Lambert, William Dobell and Brett Whiteley.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery in oils or watercolours or for the best example of figure sculpture, by an Australian artist.

The Sir John Sulman Prize is awarded for the best subject painting or genre painting or mural project by an Australian artist. 

Principal sponsor:


Supporting sponsor:

Sofitel Wentworth Sydney

Archibald Prize website

Visit the Archibald Prize website

Marcus Wills, The Paul Juraszek monolith (after Marcus Gheeraerts)
2006 Archibald Prize winner 
Marcus Wills 
The Paul Juraszek monolith (after Marcus Gheeraerts)


PricesFull $8.00
Members/Concession $6.00
Booked school groups $4.00
-per student
Student rush $3.00
-Fridays 1-3pm, with ID
Prices include entry to the Photographic Portrait Prize
Related Events:Click here for more information