Dobell Prize for Drawing
21 August - 17 October 2004
Project gallery, Ground Level

The most important drawing prize in Australia. It was established in 1993 as an initiative of the Sir William Dobell Art Foundation to encourage excellence in drawing and draughtsmanship and to honour a great Australian artist who excelled at drawing, William Dobell (1899-1970).

Finalists 2004

Andrew Antoniou
Godwin Bradbeer
Tom Carment
Judy Cassab
Tony Costa
Tim Courtney
David Fairbairn
John Fitzgibbon
Graham Fransella
Hong Fu
Joe Furlonger
Jody Graham
Philip Hannaford
Cherry Hood
Wayne Howard
Arthur James
Anne Judell


Peter Kingston
Max Linegar
Raelene Marr
Bettina McMahon
Max Miller
Sallie Moffatt
Nikolas Mourtzakis
Daniel Moynihan
David Rose
Annette Russell
Paul Schacher
Wendy Sharpe
Garry Shead *
Andrew Sibley
Craig Waddell
John Winch
Gosia Wlodarczak

* Winner

Garry Shead 'Colloquy with John Keats' 2004
Garry Shead Colloquy with John Keats 2004 (detail) � Garry Shead. Winner of the Dobell Prize for Drawing 2004
(Click image above to see full work.)